Tarry’s 30m championship

Tarry’s 30m championship


Bonginkosi Nkosi: “We will worry about that in June”.

Following Legal Eagle’s heart stopping triumph in the Green Point Stakes, this was the comment made by trainer Sean Tarry when asked if he was planning on winning the national trainer’s championship title this season.

Fast forward seven months later and the Highveld conditioner has come out on top, earning a mammoth R30,710,225!

That is about R5.5 million more than defending champion Justin Snaith, who concluded the 2018/19 season with stakes of R25,196,312.

With Tarry having accomplished this feat, it only makes sense that his No 1 jockey Lyle Hewitson is also crowned the national jockeys’ champion for a second consecutive season.

The opening line to this article is of paramount importance because the turning point for Tarry’s yard was six days before the month of June began.

He earned as much as R3,793,750 in one day – all thanks to bagging three of the four Grade 1 races at Scottsville’s festival of speed – saddling the first three in the Tsogo Sun Sprint and finishing a close-up second with Cavivar in the Alan Robertson Championship.

You have to admit, that’s one hell of a day at the office!

The 50-year-old multiple South African champion trainer has come a long way from when he started out his career with just 16 horses in 1997. If his current form is any sort of indication, he could defend his title this time next year.

Considering trainer Mike de Kock saddled 701 less runners than Tarry, he has done exceptionally well to finish third this season. His R23, 012, 612 earnings mean he has made a little over R9 million more than the fourth-placed Brett Crawford.

Interestingly, combined, the top ten trainers have earned more than R112 million!

Note: All earnings figures quoted in this article include stakes earned in restricted sales races. 

The official NHA stats used to determine the trainers championship do not include those races, but the finishing order remains the same. 

1 Tarry R26,083,600

2 Snaith R24,171,313

3 De Kock R22,972,613

4 B.Crawford R13,688,900

Views: 1114

Comments are closed.